The Philippines plans to impose a travel ban on Indonesia


To avoid spreading the highly contagious coronavirus Delta variant, the Philippines will prohibit all travelers from Indonesia from July 16 to July 31, presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced on Wednesday (July 14). “President Rodrigo Duterte has authorised the travel restrictions for all travellers arriving in the Philippines from Indonesia or those who have travelled to Indonesia within the previous 14 days,” Mr. Roque said in a statement. Mr. Roque went on to say, “This measure is being done to prevent the future dissemination and community transmission of Covid-19 variations in the Philippines.”
With the addition of Indonesia, the Philippines now has eight nations on its list of embargoed countries.
India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates are also prohibited from entering until July 31. The Delta variation was discovered in 19 samples obtained from returning Filipinos in the Philippines. So yet, no evidence of community transmission has been found.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)