New cabinet Ministers and deputy ministers were sworn before the King: Malaysia


On Monday, Malaysia’s new Cabinet ministers and deputy ministers were sworn in at the national palace before King Sultan Abdullah Ahmad Shah (August 30).
During the ceremony, which began at 2.30 p.m., each minister took their oath of office, loyalty, and secrecy at Istana Negara.
International Trade and Industry Minister Mohamed Azmin Ali, Defense Minister Hishammuddin Hussein, Finance Minister Tengku Zafrul Aziz, Works Minister Fadillah Yusof, Education Minister Radzi Jidin, Transportation Minister Wee Ka Siong, and Human Resources Minister M. Saravanan were among the ministers who took their oaths in groups of seven.
On Friday, Prime Minister Ismail Sabri Yaakob unveiled the Cabinet lineup seven days after taking the oath of office as the country’s ninth premier in front of the King on August 20.
Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri took over as Prime Minister from Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who had resigned on August 16 after losing a majority in Parliament and having his planned bipartisan collaboration rejected by political parties.
According to his office, Mr. Ismail could not attend the ministers’ swearing-in because he is quarantined after close contact with a Covid-19 patient. His office could not provide an estimate of how long he would be under quarantine.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)