Journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia are the winners of the Nobel Peace Prize in 2021


On Friday (Oct. 8), Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov, journalists whose work has enraged the authorities of the Philippines and Russia, were given the Nobel Peace Prize, which the Nobel Committee said was the support of free speech rights that are under assault across the world. According to Norwegian Nobel Committee Chairwoman Berit Reiss-Andersen, the two were honored “for their heroic battle for freedom of expression” in their respective nations.
“At the same time, they are representations of all journalists who defend this concept in a world where democracy and press freedom are increasingly threatened,” she continued.
“Free, independent, fact-based media protects against power abuse, falsehoods, and war propaganda.”
Muratov is the editor-in-chief of Novaya Gazeta, a Russian investigative newspaper that has resisted President Vladimir Putin’s Kremlin with investigations into misconduct and corruption and extensively covering the crisis in Ukraine.
Muratov, 59, is the first Russian to win the Nobel Peace Prize since Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev used the money he received from the prize in 1990 to help found Novaya Gazeta. Ressa, 58, is the Philippines’ first Nobel Peace Prize winner. She is the founder and CEO of Rappler, a digital media business that she co-founded in 2012 and has become well-known for its investigative reporting, which has included large-scale deaths during a police anti-drug operation.
“I’m stunned,” Ressa says.
The award is the first for a journalist since German Carl von Ossietzky received it in 1935 for exposing his country’s covert postwar rearmament program.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)