27 November 1895: The five Nobel Prizes established by Alfred Nobel’s list


The Nobel prize was established on 27 November 1895 when Alfred Nobel signed his last will. Nobel prizes were first awarded in 1901 onwards to the deserving people. Interestingly, three Nobel prize winners were in prison when they received the award. His will was read after his death and it caused much controversy in Sweden and internationally as he had left much of his wealth for the establishment of a prize. The establishment of the prize was opposed by his family. He named a few prize rewarders who refused to do what Nobel has asked in his will. In his will, he has dictated that his entire estate should be used to honor and award those who have conferred the greatest benefit to humankind.
In 2020, 12 laureates have been awarded the Nobel prize for their contribution towards humankind. The Nobel Prize has been awarded in the fields of physics, physiology, chemistry, medicine, peace and literature. According to his will, the five Nobel prizes are Nobel Prize for Physics, the Nobel Prize for Chemistry, the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, the Nobel Prize for Literature, and the Nobel Prize for Peace.
In Memory of Alfred Nobel, an additional award, the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences was established by the Bank of Sweden in 1968 and was first awarded in 1969. After the Nobel’s death to carry out the provisions of his will, the Nobel foundation was formed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Enable Google Transliteration.(To type in English, press Ctrl+g)